Metairie Missive

 Good morning!  I am still thinking through our opportunity we had to worship together on Sunday – and rejoicing that “I serve a risen Savior!”

I serve a risen Saviour,
He’s in the world today;
I know that He is living,
Whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy,
I hear His voice of cheer,
And just the time I need Him
He’s always near.

He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and He talks with me
Along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives, salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives:
He lives within my heart.

In all the world around me
I see His loving care,
And tho my heart grows weary
I never will despair;
I know that He is leading
Thro’ all the stormy blast,
The day of His appearing
Will come at last.

Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian,
Lift up your voice and sing
Eternal hallelujahs
To Jesus Christ the King!
The hope of all who seek Him,
The help of all who find,
None other is so loving,
So good and kind.

He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and He talks with me
Along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives, salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives:
He lives within my heart.

Below are some notes of interest regarding upcoming happenings at Metairie Baptist:

*.  We are having our Fellowship Breakfast this Sunday, April 29.  All are invited to attend and enjoy the time with friends and family.  The breakfast is prior to Sunday School.  You can come anytime between 8:30 and 9:15 a.m.

*.  After the Fellowship Breakfast, we have Sunday School – Bible study for all ages.  Our church has been blessed with some of the best teachers.  If you are a regular member, make this Sunday a priority.  If you have never been before, this will be a great week to get started (and come early to meet new friends at the breakfast).  If you don’t know where to go, someone will be in the Orion Foyer to help you find your way.

*.  During the morning worship service on Sunday, we will be observing the Lord’s Supper.  This will be a great reminder of what Jesus did for us on the cross.  We will also be reminded that it is also a promise that one day we will meet Jesus face to face again.

 

*.  We are collecting Orange Juice this Sunday (April 29) to help our Baptist Collegiate Ministries at UNO and Leavell College of NOBTS.  Would you bring some juice with you Sunday morning to donate to support and to encourage this very important ministry to college students in the city?  The BCM will be hosting Flap Jack Feasts at both campuses to encourage students as they prepare for finals.  (Someone will be in the Orion Foyer to accept your donations on Sunday morning.)

*.  Thank you for your generous gifts to the Gathering Mission Project.  We collected a considerable amount of food which will be used to help feed the homeless and the hungry through Friendship House.  Your sacrificial giving is a testimony to others of the grace and love you have experienced.  Below is a list of the items collected:

Jan. gave 16 lbs. of sauce
Feb. gave 11 jars of jelly
Mar. gave 12 boxes of cereal
Apr. gave 38 lbs. of beans
May gave 39lbs. of rice
June gave 33 lbs. of pasta
July gave 14 jars of peanut butter
Aug. gave 31 cans of fruit
Sept. gave 62 cans of corn
Oct. gave 31 cans of green beans
Nov. gave 29 cans of peas
Dec. gave 19 cans of pork and beans

We can declare the hungry as the winners!!  May contributed the most lbs. and Sept. the most cans!!  The Friendship House was sooooo excited.  Thanks to all who gave!

 
Would you be willing to be “just one” person who would invite someone to Sunday School or Worship on Sunday?  It has been demonstrated that the most effective means of encouraging someone to attend church is through a personal invitation from a friend.  Pray about which one person God would put on your heart for you to ask.

I also wanted to let you know as a church that the memorial service for Mrs. Jean Fox has been scheduled for Saturday, April 28, at 10:00 a.m.  The service will be at Lakelawn Metairie.  Please join me in continuing to pray for the family and friends of Mrs. Jean.

I look forward to having fellowship with you and studying the Word tonight at MBC.

 

May God’s richest blessings be yours today!

Just one,
Thomas

Leave a Reply

