Metairie Missive

 Good Wednesday morning!  I trust you are doing well – and staying as cool as possible.  We have had great weeks at Metairie Baptist Church throughout the month of June.  I find it hard to believe that the month is over – but it is!  And now July is upon us.  What will we do for Him in the month of July?

I cannot begin to express adequately how proud I am of you, MBC!  You have done many great ministries throughout the month of June.  Vacation Bible School was a great success as God used so many different people to impact the lives of children.  The Crossover Block Party was a great time of fellowship with our community neighbors – and you showed up to support the ministry and to demonstrate love to all who came.  Many worked tirelessly behind the scenes for both VBS and the Block Party and for that I am grateful.  The Gathering this past Sunday night was a great time of fellowship.  We enjoyed singing hymns – lots of them!  I particularly enjoyed watching people of all ages suggest their favorite hymn and then participate by singing.  At the Gathering, we also rejoiced in our efforts of collecting items for Friendship House’s UP2HOPE.  In addition to these happenings, we have kept our regular activities going strong and effective – Sunday School, Wednesday Night activities, Morning Worship with the choir leading us to name a few.  Most of all, I believe that God was pleased with the efforts demonstrated in all these ministries and that His name was given the honor He deserves.

Our children have been at CentriKid this week and will be returning today.  Many of you have been praying for God’s working in their lives and others have supported through financially giving to their trip – thank you.   A special thanks goes to those who have gone as chaperones and given of themselves to the children throughout the week.

For the upcoming week, I would ask that you consider the following:

*.  Church Council is Sunday night at 6:00 p.m. in the fellowship hall.  By now you know how much I enjoy this time of meeting to dream together of God’s direction for MBC.  I especially want to encourage you to be a part of this meeting this week as I have some a matter on my heart that I would like to share with you.  Also, I look forward to hearing what God is placing on your heart.  So, please make plans to join us and make a priority of prayer for God’s directions.  Come ready to talk!

*.  Sunday morning worship continues this week at 10:30 a.m. immediately after Sunday School which meets at 9:15 a.m.  I will continue the series “Sermons in Stained Glass” this week as we focus on Ruth as a “Lesson on Change.”  During the morning worship service, we will be celebrating baptism as well.

*.  Our mission effort continues this month as we are continuing our support of Friendship House.  More information will be following this email in the days ahead with specific details.

In closing, let me express my thanks to you for your prayers and for your many expressions of concern.  Most of you know that I have had the opportunity to be in Nashville for a meeting this week that has also afforded me the opportunity to spend lots of time with my parents.  They are so appreciative of your love and support, as I am.  This was a key week for them as the doctor decided that Dad was making enough progress in the medical trial for him to continue into the future.  We have had lots of time to talk and I have enjoyed being able to lend a hand – and to catch up on all the news as well as reflecting upon lots of happenings from the past (some of which I forgot!).  I have been reminded over and over again of the great gift of Godly parents that God has put in my life.  It has also been a reminder of how living a life well seizes the opportunity to impact many others – and Mom and Dad have done and are doing that. 

In the days ahead, let’s “seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness . . . .” (Matt 6:33)

One the journey,
Thomas

Leave a Reply

