Metairie Missive

Good morning! I am so glad to be back with you. Thank you for your prayers for my family, and especially my Mother, over the past days. I cannot begin to tell you how much you have meant to our family. The service for my Dad was truly a celebration of a life lived well – and a reminder of how God can use one person to make an impact for Him. I found so much encouragement in the stories shared about my Dad and hearing the many ways God had used his life in the lives of others. My Mother is doing well and is of course walking through those moments of sadness with her faith pointed towards God. The flowers that were sent on behalf of the church were absolutely beautiful and a wonderful reminder of your love and prayers.

I also wanted to thank all those involved in making the Fellowship Breakfast last Sunday a success. The fellowship was great and the pancakes were wonderful! Thank you to Debi Purdue and a host of others who gave of themselves for us.

August is here – hard to believe! The summer is almost gone and now it is time to get ready for the return of school, the return of some routines, and the return of Fall (wouldn’t it be nice if Fall weather returned as well!). Several matters to keep in mind as you consider the upcoming days:

*. Join us tonight for Bible study and prayer as we resume our study: “Encountering the New Testament.” Tonight we will be looking at what many believe to be the first book written in the New Testament – James. The information from tonight’s study and all the studies in this series will be posted online at http://www.metairiebc.org. Come early for our fellowship supper at 5:00 p.m.

*. Our ladies are meeting at the church on this Saturday morning at 11:00 a.m. for “Dare to Dine.” If you are a lady, you will not want to miss this opportunity of encouragement and fellowship – not to mention good New Orleans food!

*. I will continue preaching through the series “Stained Glass Sermons” this week. Though I will not do this again (at least I don’t think I will) I am going to look a second week at Mark –new sermon and new verses — but God put on my heart a passage in Mark that I wanted to share with you before we move on to Luke. Don’t forget that Sunday School/Bible Study is at 9:15 a.m. We have great teachers – if you aren’t plugged into a class come and join us – we’ll help you find the right place.

*. Finally – make Sunday night a priority and plan on attending the Church Council at 6:00 p.m. in the Fellowship Hall. Every person at Metairie Baptist is both invited and encouraged to attend. We have been praying for God’s directions for MBC for the upcoming year and now we want to hear what God has been saying to you. Join us as we pray, dream, and plan for the upcoming months.

Think on this verse: “But be doers of the word, and not merely hearers, deceiving yourselves.” (James 1:22) Let’s be actively living out the life God has given us.

I rejoice constantly that I am able to walk with Christ daily – and I am overwhelmingly grateful to God that He has given me the opportunity to be your pastor.

On the journey,
Thomas

Leave a Reply

